History of Music

History of the Department

The Department of Music was established in November 1992 as a Unit of the then Department of Arts. The Unit operated with two pioneer academic staff members in the persons of Dr. Dan C.C. Agu and Dr. Chukwuemeka Mbanugo. Later events transformed the Unit into a Sub-department and a Department. The National Universities Commission (NUC) accredited all the programmes of the Department in 2005.