History of Philosophy

History of the Department
The Department of Philosophy was created as a unit in the Department of Arts in 1997/1998 with Dr. Godalex Ezeani as the Coordinator and an intake of twelve pioneer students. Since its inception, the Department has grown in leaps and bounds in the development of its programmes, and facilities, and in the strength of its staff and students.  Currently, the Department runs regular and continuing education B.A. Programmes as well as Postgraduate Programmes at the M.A. and Ph.D levels.
The Department has also grown to be leading light in the Nigerian Philosophy community and the larger society through the organization of lectures, workshops, seminars and conferences.